Time flies when you feel like death

I used to think “Time flies when you’re having fun” summed up why the good times in my life seemed so short and the misery so long. 

There’s more to it than that though isn’t there? The past couple of years have been my worst (health wise) since I was very young. And do you know what? In the moment each day seems to drag on ahead of me, the year stretching out as one long struggle, but all too soon it has flown by and I feel as though this time last year was only three or four months ago.

That’s what happens when what someone else does in a day takes you a week. If you can manage it at all.

It is a sad truth that a fun moment flies by but a miserable year just disappears right from under you.
I don’t want to loose any more of my years to these limitations but I have no choice. All I can do is make the most of the snippets of life I can enjoy so I can turn back to them in my mind when I am struggling. 
If life is running away with you it is rarely your fault.

Step back.

Look around you.

You are here now. Older than before and perhaps not wiser. But still younger than you’ll be again.
Sakara.

Leave a Reply

